Childhood Favorites

I just read this article about Beverly Cleary, who will turn 100 years old this April. The library of my youth is filled with Ramona, Ralph the mouse and so many stories that came from this beloved author. Did you grow up with Ribsy, Beezus or Henry Huggins?

child-reading-3In these last few years, largely through Kindle, I’ve revisited some of my childhood favorites-with surprising results.From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler was just as good as I’d remembered, but Harriet the Spy, which I would have previously said was one of the most influential books of my childhood, was a disappointment. In fact, if it truly influenced me, I’m surprised I didn’t grow up to be a felon. A Wrinkle In Time was much more spiritual than I’d caught on to in my youth, and Little Women still held gentle lessons for today. 

Right now, I have fifteen books sitting on my desk, and another five on the end table by my end of the couch. There are at least another ten on my Kindle, as I prepare for this years retreat list. Ashley has her own list, and as the deadline draws near, we pray for wisdom to know what books make the cut this year.

While we hope you find books that help you grow in the Lord, inspire you and encourage you on that list, I also want to encourage you to consider looking back-to those books from your reading past that blessed you, encouraged you, and were just downright fun for you to read.

And if you have littles, your own children or maybe your grandchildren, read to them. Let them see you reading books, give them books, and help them to learn to choose good books. Introduce them to the books of your youth, books that you loved. Of course, there is one book they should learn to love more than any other book. Help them see how much that books means to you.

But I don’t need to tell you that, do I?

Read well, friends.

One thought on “Childhood Favorites

  1. You made me walk down memory lane! Ferdinand, anything Eloise, Wurthering Heights, and of course I still love a good mystery because of Nancy Drew.

    Like

Leave a Reply

